Find Posts By Topic

Seattle City Light Superintendent Named to Green Ribbon Commission

Seattle City Light Superintendent Jorge Carrasco has been named to a Green Ribbon Commission created by Mayor Mike McGinn to steward development of the Seattle Climate Action Plan.

Seattle City Light Superintendent Jorge Carrasco

Seattle City Light Superintendent Jorge Carrasco has been named to a Green Ribbon Commission created by Mayor Mike McGinn to steward development of the Seattle Climate Action Plan.

Co-chaired by Denis Hayes, President of the Bullitt Foundation, and Doris Koo, Senior Advisor to Enterprise Community Partners, the primary charge of the Green Ribbon Commission will be to help the city of Seattle create a climate action plan that increases the circle of economic prosperity, affordable housing, public health, and social equity while protecting our planet for future generations.

“The challenge for this Green Ribbon Commission will be to fully integrate our climate goals with our job creation and social equity goals,” McGinn said. “Cities that do so will be leaders in creating a new model for quality of life, environmental sustainability and economic success.  I thank all the members of the Green Ribbon Commission for their commitment to this vision and their service.” 

The Green Ribbon Commission is comprised of business, civic, and environmental leaders. The City convened a Green Ribbon Commission in 2005 to help develop the Seattle’s first climate action plan. The mayor was a member of the 2005 Green Ribbon Commission, as were several returning members of the Green Ribbon Commission, including co-chairs Denis Hayes and Doris Koo.

“Seattle’s 2005 Green Ribbon Commission launched one of the nation’s first municipal climate action plans,” said Hayes.  “I’m pleased today to join another diverse, talented group to help Seattle demonstrate that a low-carbon future can also be a healthy, vibrant, and prosperous future.”

The Green Ribbon Commission will meet six times between May and October 2012.  The Office of Sustainability & Environment is supporting the Green Ribbon Commission and leading the City’s climate action planning process.

Learn more about the work of the City of Seattle Office of Sustainability & Environment.

Green Ribbon Commission members:

Co-Chair, Denis Hayes, president, Bullitt Foundation

Co-Chair, Doris Koo, senior advisor, Enterprise Community Partners

Sean Bagsby, vice president, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, Local 46

Jorge Carrasco, superintendent, Seattle City Light

Gene Duvernoy, president, Forterra

Dr. David Fleming, director and health officer, Public Health – Seattle and King County

Hilary Franz, executive director, Futurewise

Dr. Howard Frumkin, dean, University of Washington School of Public Health

Brian Geller, executive director, Seattle 2030 District

Terri Glaberson, executive director, CoolMom

KC Golden, policy director, Climate Solutions

Bert Gregory, chief executive officer, Mithun

Peter Hahn, director, Seattle Department of Transportation

Rob Johnson, executive director, Transportation Choices Coalition

Craig Kenworthy, executive director, Puget Sound Clean Air Agency

Michael Mann, president, Cyan Strategics

Chris Martin, president, CleanScapes

Brice Maryman, landscape architect, SvR Design Co.

Estela Ortega, executive director, El Centro de la Raza

Megan Owen, director of market development, McKinstry

Ben Packard, vice president for global responsibility, Starbucks Coffee Co.

Kathleen Casey Ridihalgh, senior organizing manager, Sierra Club

Tania Maria Rosario, political director, Service Employees International Union, Local 6

Jill Simmons, director, Office of Sustainability & Environment

Diane Sugimura, director, Seattle Department of Planning & Development

Harold S. Taniguchi, director, King County Department of Transportation

Jason Twill, senior project manager for sustainability, Vulcan

Kathy Washienko, national advisory board executive committee, Union of Concerned Scientists