Seattle City (spot)Light: Brian Hempel

Brian Hempel joined Seattle City Light in February 2020—just in time to get acquainted with his office space before the COVID-19 response mandated social distancing and he began to work from home. Born and raised in Southern California, he also lived in Buffalo, New York, before returning to SoCal and finding his way to the Pacific Northwest.

As the Safety & Technical Training Coordinator for City Light’s Workforce Development team, he ensures training standards meet or exceed compliance and verifies the accuracy of training information. In this week’s Seattle City (spot)Light, he talks about the journey that brought him to City Light, his educational background and life as a single father.

Inweb Network 5.18.20 Brian H
Brian Hempel with his daughters, Brooke and Mackenzie.

“I was really attracted to City Light because of its commitment to providing clean, green energy. I worked for a larger company in the energy industry prior to this, and you can tell that the only thing that mattered was their earnings sheet. Here at City Light, you can tell that the customers and company culture is important to everyone.”

“I am a bit of a non-traditional learner. I joined the United States Marine Corps on the day of my 18th birthday and was in the Marines from 1999-2003. After my enlistment, I became a police officer in Southern California and was in law enforcement for approximately 6 years. I attended Southern Illinois University Carbondale for my Bachelors and Masters Degrees in Workforce Education and Development, graduating in 2012 and 2014 respectfully. In 2019, I completed a Masters Degree in Organizational Leadership from the University of Oxford, and I am currently a PhD Candidate at California Baptist University studying ‘Leadership in East African Conflict Zones’.”

“My favorite activity is getting to travel with my daughters Mackenzie (12) and Brooke (10). We have a goal to visit all 50 states by the time Brooke turns 12, and as of today we have been to 45 states with just Hawaii, Maryland, Virginia, Delaware, and West Virginia left on our list. I also enjoy watching my daughters play their respective sports. Mackenzie plays club volleyball and, in the fall, will start her fifth year. Brooke plays soccer and has been playing for six years. It is fun to watch them develop and get better in their sport as the years go by.” “Between work, raising two daughters, and grad school, personal hobbies are at a minimum, but I do enjoy playing golf, cycling, and fishing. Being new to the area, I’ve got a lot of exploring to do this summer.”